Three Bell School students among ANU New Colombo Plan recipients

27 November 2018

Three Bell School undergrad students are among eight students from The Australian National University who have been awarded New Colombo Plan scholarships to undertake study in countries in our region.

Evangeline Packett will study in Fiji, while Cameron Allan and Dana Throssell will study in Indonesia. Other ANU students will spend time in China, Japan and Samoa. All 3 Bell School students are currently studying a Bachelor of International Security Studies as a flexible double degree, paired with Science, Law, and Asian Studies respectively.

The NCP Scholarships provide Australian undergraduate students with the opportunity to undertake semester-based study as well as internships in up to 40 locations across the Indo-Pacific region.

The latest successful scholarships mean that, from 2014 to 2019, ANU will have had 39 students participate in the New Colombo Plan Scholarships program.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt AC said the New Colombo Plan scholarships provide an excellent opportunity for Australian students to learn about the culture and issues of countries in our region, and to bring that valuable knowledge home.

“As the national university, ANU plays a leading role in investigating and studying issues that affect our region, and we encourage our students to not just be leaders in their own communities, but to also think about the regional and global context of their studies,” Professor Schmidt said.

“We’ve had many successful scholars broaden their understanding of, and passion for, the Indo-Pacific region through the New Colombo Plan and this has helped them succeed scholarly and beyond their studies in their professional and personal lives.”

“I congratulate all the ANU students who have worked hard to deserve this opportunity, and I encourage them to dive deep into the cultures of the countries they’ll call home for the next semester.”

The NCP Scholars for 2019 are:

On top of their scholarship placings, three students were also selected as NCP Fellows.

Cameron Allan has been selected as the New Colombo Plan Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Fellow.

Evangeline Sharman has been selected as the New Colombo Plan Samoa Fellow.

Oliver Lilford has been selected as the New Colombo Plan Fiji Fellow.

As a Fellow, the students may be invited to high-level events where they will be an ambassador for both the New Colombo Plan program and for Australia.

The successful 2019 round of NCP scholars for ANU also rounds off a stellar year of results for the University and the New Colombo Plan program more broadly, with ANU being awarded $755,700 in funding across 18 programs in the NCP’s 2019 Mobility Grants program announced in July.

Information about the New Colombo Plan Scholarships program, including how to apply for the next round of scholarships, can be found on the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade’s website.

Updated:  22 March 2023/Responsible Officer:  Bell School Marketing Team/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team